Permanent Lighting · Buyer's guide
Haven Lighting: roofline plus landscape, DIY or professional, and what it costs
Updated September 13, 2026
Haven Lighting is a low-voltage outdoor LED lighting brand that sells a permanent roofline system, which it calls the X Series, alongside landscape and hardscape lines that all run on the same cloud-controlled app. That is the thing to understand before comparing it to Jellyfish, Trimlight or the others: Haven is a whole-property lighting company with a roofline product, not a roofline company. It sells both direct to homeowners for DIY and through contractors, publishes sample package pricing on its site, and its systems are 12-volt low voltage throughout. If you want the roofline, the trees, the path and the retaining wall on one controller, Haven is one of the few brands built for that. If you only want the roofline, the comparison is narrower. This guide covers what Haven sells, what changes between DIY and contractor install, what it publishes on cost and warranty, and how to compare it.
Get a Haven quote and a rival quote from one search
Enter your ZIP. Lights Local installers quote every major brand, so you can compare rather than be steered.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
What Haven actually sells
Haven's site lists several product lines, and the names matter because a quote will use them:
- X Series. The permanent roofline lighting system. This is the product that competes with the roofline brands.
- 9 Series Pro and 9 Series. Full-colour landscape lighting, with the Pro adding animation, per the manufacturer.
- 6 Series. Adjustable-white landscape lighting, for people who want tunable white rather than colour in the garden.
- Q Series. Backyard and hardscape lighting.
- Commercial. Full-colour systems positioned for businesses.
All of it runs on 12-volt low-voltage wiring, and all of it is controlled from the Haven Lighting app, which the manufacturer describes as cloud-based with built-in automation, automatic firmware and app updates, and a feature it calls Sports AI for team-colour scheduling. Haven states 32 high-quality colours for its colour systems.
When whole-property lighting is the right call
Most people searching for permanent lights want the roofline done. For them, Haven's X Series is one option among several and the comparison is on the usual things: track, colour match, warranty, and the installer. But a meaningful number of homeowners want more than the roofline: uplighting on the trees, path lights, a lit retaining wall, a pool area. Doing that with a roofline-only brand means a second system, a second controller and a second app. Doing it with Haven means one.
That is the case for Haven, and it is a real one. The case against is that if you only want the roofline, you are choosing a brand whose centre of gravity is landscape, and you should compare its X Series closely against the roofline specialists on the track and the fit. Our brand comparison does that in one table.
DIY or contractor: what changes
Haven leans into DIY more than most professional brands. Its site addresses DIY enthusiasts directly, publishes installation tutorials covering light placement and trenching 12-volt underground wiring, and sells sample packages direct. It also works through contractors and mentions an experience centre.
For landscape lighting, DIY is genuinely common: low-voltage wiring in a trench is a weekend job for a lot of homeowners. For the roofline, the same rules apply as for every brand. Single story, simple roofline, comfortable on a ladder and cutting the run at corners: DIY is plausible. Two stories, steep pitch, complicated trim: hire it out. The Govee guide has a decision list that applies here too.
What Haven says it costs
Haven is one of the few brands in this guide series that publishes prices on its site, in the form of sample complete-system packages spanning a wide range from a modest starter package to a large multi-line installation. Those are package prices for the hardware sold direct; a contractor install is quoted separately and moves with the usual factors: length of run, corners and peaks, height and access, how much trenching for landscape lines, and where the power comes from. Our cost guide covers the roofline factors with ranges. Because Haven's site shows package prices, it is worth pricing your hardware there first, then asking a contractor what the install adds.
The warranty
Haven's site references a warranty section but the terms were not stated on the pages we checked, so we will not guess. Ask for the current manufacturer warranty in writing, and if a contractor is installing, ask separately what labour they cover and for how long. For comparison, Trimlight publishes a lifetime warranty on core components, Oelo publishes seven years for dealer installs, and Celebright publishes ten years.
What to look for in Haven reviews
- Sort roofline reviews from landscape reviews. They are different products with different failure modes. A glowing review of path lights tells you little about the X Series on a roofline.
- For DIY, look for reviews a season in. Trenched low-voltage wiring and roofline mounting both reveal themselves over a winter, not a week.
- For contractor installs, find the contractor's reviews. Haven's brand rating tells you nothing about the crew coming to your house.
- Note what people say about the app. With everything on one controller, the app is the product. Reviews that mention connectivity, scheduling and updates are the useful ones.
Haven versus the alternatives
| Haven | Trimlight | Jellyfish | EverLights | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scope | Roofline, landscape, hardscape, commercial on one app | Roofline | Roofline | Roofline |
| Power | 12V low voltage throughout | Not stated on site | No exterior power supplies (manufacturer) | Not stated on site |
| How sold | Direct DIY and contractors | Dealers only | Corporate, dealers, and DIY | DIY direct and professional |
| Published pricing | Sample package prices on site | Approximate per-foot range | Approximate per-foot plus controller, corporate only | Not published |
| Published warranty | Referenced; terms not on the pages we checked | Lifetime on core components; one-year labour minimum | Not on the pages we checked | Five years parts, one year labour |
| Colours | 32 stated | Not stated as a count | Not stated as a count | Over four billion stated |
How to find a Haven installer, and why to get another quote too
Haven's site routes you to its store or its contractor channel. A directory shows every permanent lighting installer in your area and what they carry. When you have quotes, ask each installer:
- Have you installed Haven's X Series on a roofline like mine, and Haven landscape lines if I want them? Ask to see both.
- How is the roofline run fastened, and is it colour-matched to my trim?
- Where does the controller go, and how is the low-voltage wiring routed for each line?
- How do you handle corners, peaks and transitions on the roofline?
- What is the manufacturer warranty, and what labour do you cover? In writing.
- What is in the quote and what is extra? Trenching for landscape lines is a common extra.
- When can you do it?
Installers are listed by state and city under permanent lighting.
Compare Haven against the alternatives
Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers near you. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
Related guides
Written by Matt Staton, founder of Strandr, the design software used by 1,700+ professional lighting contractors.
Every installer on Lights Local is reviewed before listing. More about how Lights Local works → · What installation costs → · Buyer's guides →