Permanent Lighting · Buyer's guide
EverLights: DIY or professional, cost, and what the warranty covers
Updated September 13, 2026
EverLights is a permanent outdoor lighting system sold two ways: as a do-it-yourself kit direct from the manufacturer, and as a professionally installed system. The product is called ClickLights, mounts facing outward or downward, and is controlled from the EverLights app. Two things set it apart on paper. It states a dedicated true warm white alongside full colour, which matters if everyday white light is your main use, and it publishes a warranty split of five years on parts and one year on labour. EverLights does not publish pricing. This guide covers what changes between the DIY and professional routes, what the manufacturer says about the hardware and warranty, what to look for in reviews, and how to compare an EverLights quote against the alternatives.
Get an EverLights quote and a rival quote from one search
Enter your ZIP. Lights Local installers quote every major brand, so you can compare rather than be steered.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
What the system actually is
EverLights' site describes its ClickLights product with a handful of specific claims worth knowing:
- RGBW with true warm white. The manufacturer states all colours plus a true warm white, with over four billion colour options. The dedicated white channel is the point: mixed white from red, green and blue can read slightly cool, and a separate warm-white LED avoids that.
- Stated output and lifespan. 70 lumens per light and a 50,000-hour life expectancy, per the manufacturer.
- Mounting. Outward-facing or downward-facing installation options. The site does not detail the track or channel hardware, so ask the installer what is fastening the run to your house.
- Control. App-based, with the manufacturer stating you can control the lights from anywhere with internet access, plus more than 200 patterns and presets.
Everything else, holiday patterns, schedules, year-round white, it shares with the other professional systems. Our brand comparison has them in one table.
DIY or professional: what actually changes
EverLights promotes its DIY route with what it calls exclusive pricing, and its professional route through its residential service. The hardware is the same product. What changes is who does the three things that decide how the finished system looks and lasts:
- Cutting and fitting the run to your roofline. Corners, peaks, dormers and transitions between roof heights. This is the skilled part.
- Routing the wiring and placing the controller. Where the power comes from, whether cable is visible, whether the controller stays dry and reachable.
- Being on the ladder. Two stories or a steep pitch is the single biggest reason to hire it out.
The DIY route makes sense for a single-story home with a straight roofline, an outdoor outlet nearby, and a homeowner who is comfortable with those three tasks. The professional route makes sense for everything else. The Govee guide has a decision list that applies just as well here; the difference is that EverLights DIY is a professional-grade system, so you are doing the channel work yourself rather than skipping it.
One thing to confirm before choosing DIY: whether the published warranty is the same for a self-install as for a professional one. The site publishes the parts-and-labour split but does not, on the pages we checked, say whether the DIY route carries the same parts term. Ask.
What EverLights says it costs
Nothing specific, on its site. There is no per-foot figure and no project range published, only the statement that DIY buyers get exclusive pricing. For a professional install, the quote depends on the same factors as every brand: length of run, corners and peaks, height and access, where the power comes from. Our cost guide covers those with ranges. For a DIY kit, the price is on the order form and the real cost is your weekend.
The warranty
EverLights publishes a five-year parts warranty and a one-year labour warranty. That is clearer than most and worth understanding in two parts. Parts for five years means a failed light or controller is replaced free within that window. Labour for one year means that after the first year, the visit to fit the free part may not be free. Ask your installer, in writing, what a service call costs in year two, and whether they extend labour coverage beyond the manufacturer's minimum. For comparison, Trimlight publishes a lifetime warranty on core components and Oelo publishes seven years for dealer installs.
What to look for in EverLights reviews
EverLights reviews split into two populations, DIY owners and professionally installed owners, and they complain about different things. DIY reviews are mostly about the install experience: how clear the instructions were, how the mounting held, whether the app paired. Professional reviews are mostly about the installer. Read them separately.
- For DIY, look for reviews a season or more in. Mounting that held through the first month is not the same as mounting that held through a winter.
- For professional installs, find your installer's reviews, not the brand's. The brand's rating tells you nothing about the crew coming to your house.
- Note what people say about the white. The dedicated warm-white channel is EverLights' clearest differentiator; owners who bought it for everyday white light will tell you whether it delivered.
- Discount rival-dealer comparisons. Pages ranking EverLights against Trimlight or Jellyfish are often written by dealers of one of those. Read for facts, not verdicts.
EverLights versus the alternatives
| EverLights | Trimlight | Jellyfish | Oelo | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White light | Dedicated true warm white (manufacturer) | RGB mixing, no dedicated white (manufacturer) | Not stated on site | Not stated on site |
| How sold | DIY direct and professional | Dealers only | Corporate, dealers, and DIY | Dealers, with a DIY warranty tier |
| Published warranty | Five years parts, one year labour | Lifetime on core components; one-year labour minimum | Not on the pages we checked | Seven years dealer, five years DIY |
| Published pricing | Not published; DIY "exclusive pricing" | Approximate per-foot range | Approximate per-foot plus controller, corporate only | Not published |
| Stated output / life | 70 lumens, 50,000 hours | 50,000 hours | Not stated | 100,000 hours, IP68 |
How to find an EverLights installer, and why to get another quote too
EverLights' site routes you to its own residential service or its DIY store. A directory shows every permanent lighting installer in your area and what they carry, so you can get an EverLights quote and a rival quote from one search. When you have them, ask each installer:
- Have you installed on a house like mine? Ask to see it.
- What is fastening the run to my house, and is it colour-matched to my trim? EverLights' site does not detail the mounting hardware, so ask.
- Can I see the warm white next to the mixed white?
- How do you handle corners, peaks and transitions?
- Where does the controller go, and how is it wired?
- What labour do you cover beyond the manufacturer's one year, and what does a service call cost after? In writing.
- When can you do it?
Installers are listed by state and city under permanent lighting.
Compare EverLights against the alternatives
Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers near you. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
Related guides
Written by Matt Staton, founder of Strandr, the design software used by 1,700+ professional lighting contractors.
Every installer on Lights Local is reviewed before listing. More about how Lights Local works → · What installation costs → · Buyer's guides →