Permanent Lighting · Buyer's guide
Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro vs 2: which one for which house
Updated September 13, 2026
The difference between Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro and Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 comes down to one thing before anything else: the Pro can be cut to length and connected around your roofline, up to a total of 200 feet, while the 2 cannot be cut at all and tops out at 150 feet built from fixed sections. If your roofline is a straight run or two with simple corners, the 2 fits and is the cheaper kit. If it has gables, dormers, a porch roof at a different height, or simply more footage than 150 feet, the Pro is the one that can be fitted to it. Beyond that, the Pro adds an adjustable white range and a slightly different light count per foot; the 2 has more scene modes and a stated per-light white brightness. Both use the same Govee Home app, the same plug-in power arrangement, the same VHB tape and clip mounting, and both carry a light-string rating of IP67. This page sets out what the product pages say about each, which houses suit which kit, and the one thing that decides whether either lasts: how you fasten it.
Roofline too complicated for a kit?
Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers who serve your area. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
The lineup, briefly
Govee sells its permanent outdoor lights as boxed kits through its own site, Amazon, Best Buy, Lowe's and Home Depot. The Permanent Outdoor Lights 2 is the entry kit. The Pro sits above it. A 2 Pro and a Prism line also exist above those; this page compares the two that people search for by name, the 2 and the Pro. For the broader question of whether any Govee kit is right for your house versus a professionally installed system, start with the Govee guide.
What the product pages say
Lengths and whether it can be cut
Lights 2: sold in 50-, 100- and 150-foot kits. Govee's page states "this light strip cannot be cut." It can be extended with compatible extension lights and cables; the page says it supports a maximum of nine light sections and four extension cables, with a total maximum of 150 feet. Light spacing is 417 millimetres, a little over 16 inches, between modules.
Pro: sold in 100-, 150- and 200-foot kits, with a 16.4-foot extension light available separately, and 60 lights per 100 feet. It is cuttable and spliceable: Govee's page says to "cut and connect lights with guidance from the user manual" and that the total length must not exceed 200 feet. That is the headline difference. On a roofline with several corners, peaks and changes of height, being able to cut a run to end exactly at a corner and start the next section where you need it is the difference between a fitted install and one with slack loops and awkward gaps.
Colour and white light
Lights 2: Govee describes an RGBWIC system with 16 million colours and a stated 40-lumen white light per unit; a 4000K white appears in the product imagery. Pro: Govee describes RGBIC with "enhanced warm and cool white lighting" and an adjustable white range of 2700K to 6500K. The Pro's per-light lumen figure was not stated on the page we checked, so we will not guess at it. The practical reading: if you want to tune everyday white from warm to cool, the Pro states that range; the 2 states a single white with a brightness figure. Ask to see both in person if plain white for daily use is the main reason you are buying.
Waterproof ratings and temperature
Lights 2: the light string is rated IP67; the power adapter and control box are rated IP65. The page states anti-UV materials and an operating range of -4°F to 140°F. Pro: the light string is rated IP67 and the control box IP65, and the page states plainly that the adapter is for indoor use only. That last line matters more than the ratings. On the Pro, the power adapter has to live somewhere dry and indoors, which shapes where the run can start and how the cable gets outside. On the 2, the adapter carries an outdoor-capable rating, but keeping it out of standing water and direct weather is still the sensible course, and that goes for every plug-in outdoor system.
Control and features
Both run from the Govee Home app and both are listed as compatible with Alexa, Google Assistant and Matter. The 2's page lists 100 scene modes, an AI light show feature and a music mode; the Pro's page lists 75 scene modes. The page for the 2 also shows a 30-day money-back guarantee and lifetime customer support. Neither page stated a warranty term in years on the pages we checked, so check the current terms on Govee's site or in the box before you rely on them.
Mounting
Identical in kind. Both mount with VHB adhesive tape and clips; the Pro's page describes fitting each light in about eight seconds with glue and clips. The bases have screw holes for a firmer fix, and the larger kits ship with screws and anchors. Read on for why that detail matters more than any spec above.
Side by side
| Lights 2 | Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Kit lengths | 50, 100, 150 ft | 100, 150, 200 ft, plus 16.4 ft extension |
| Cuttable | No: "this light strip cannot be cut" | Yes, per the user manual; total not to exceed 200 ft |
| Maximum total length | 150 ft; max 9 light sections and 4 extension cables | 200 ft |
| Light spacing | 417 mm between modules | 60 lights per 100 ft |
| Colour system | RGBWIC, 16 million colours | RGBIC with enhanced warm and cool white |
| White light | 40 lm per unit stated; 4000K shown | 2700K to 6500K adjustable; lumens not stated |
| Light string rating | IP67 | IP67 |
| Control box / adapter | IP65 / IP65 | IP65 / adapter indoor use only |
| Operating temperature | -4°F to 140°F, anti-UV | Not stated on the page we checked |
| Scene modes | 100, plus AI light show and music mode | 75 |
| App and voice | Govee Home; Alexa, Google, Matter | Govee Home; Alexa, Google, Matter |
| Mounting | VHB glue and clips; screw holes | VHB glue and clips; screw holes |
| Guarantee shown | 30-day money back; lifetime customer support | Not stated on the page we checked |
Every row except cuttability and the white range is close to a wash. Buy on the roofline, not on the scene-mode count.
Which one for which house
Choose the Lights 2 when
- The roofline is a straight run or two. A ranch front, a single-story with one or two corners, a garage. Fixed sections and extension cables can handle a couple of turns; they cannot be trimmed to land exactly on a corner.
- The total is well under 150 feet. Measure the eave you actually want lit, not the whole perimeter. Most single-elevation fronts are.
- Budget is the main constraint. The 2 is the entry kit, and a well-fastened 2 on a simple roofline looks as good from the street as anything else in the range.
- A single white is fine. If you want white for everyday use and are not fussy about tuning it warmer or cooler, the 2 states a brightness figure and shows a 4000K white.
Choose the Pro when
- The roofline has gables, dormers or a porch at a different height. Every change of direction or height is a place a fixed section will loop or gap. Cutting and splicing lets you end and restart the run where the house does.
- You need more than 150 feet. A full perimeter on a mid-size home often does; the Pro runs to 200.
- You want tunable white. The Pro states a 2700K to 6500K range, which covers warm evening light through to a cooler daytime white.
- The adapter must stay indoors. The Pro's page says the adapter is for indoor use only, so plan for it to live in a garage, a basement or another dry interior space, with the low-voltage cable routed out through the wall. A covered porch is still outdoors.
If you are on the fence, measure first. A tape measure along the eaves you want lit, plus a count of the corners and peaks, will answer the question faster than any review.
The mounting truth: tape versus screws decides the lifespan
The Pro versus 2 debate is mostly about fit. The debate that decides whether your lights are still on the house in two years is about fastening, and it is the same for both kits. Each light sits in a small angled base with double-sided VHB tape pre-applied and a screw hole beside it. The tape is for positioning. Owners and reviewers consistently report the same two things about Govee kits of every generation: the tape alone does not hold long-term, and the plastic clips can crack and let sections drop, sometimes after a season or two. Govee's own inclusion of screws and anchors in the larger kits is the tell.
The reviewers who were happiest with their result, on either kit, are the ones who drilled and screwed every base rather than trusting the adhesive. There is now a small aftermarket in aluminium track made specifically to hold Govee lights, which tells you exactly where the weak point is. So whichever kit you choose, budget the time to screw every base down, protect the cable where it meets the control box, and keep the adapter dry. Do that, and the difference between the Pro and the 2 is the fit to your roofline. Skip it, and the difference is academic.
When to get a professional system quoted instead
Both kits are designed to be installed by a homeowner from a ladder, powered from an outlet near the start of the run (outdoors for Lights 2, indoors for the Pro's adapter), and supported by you when a section stops responding. That is the right product for a lot of houses. It stops being the right product when the roofline is two or more stories up, when it has enough corners and peaks that even a cuttable kit will look fitted rather than built-in, or when you want a dedicated power supply with no visible cord and a business that put it on the house and has a reason to come back.
A professionally installed system is a different category: hardware in a colour-matched aluminium channel fastened to the structure, wired to a dedicated supply, cut and routed to your eave by the installer. Installers do not fit Govee kits; they quote their own systems, and there are several, compared in our brand comparison. What drives that quote is length, corners and peaks, height and access, and where the power comes from, which the cost guide explains with ranges. Run through this in order and stop at the first "no":
- Can I safely reach every part of the roofline I want lit from a stepladder on flat ground? No: get a quote.
- Is the run simple enough that the 2 fits, or complicated enough that the Pro can be cut to it, but not so complicated that either will look improvised? No: get a quote.
- Is there an outlet within reach: outdoors for Lights 2, or indoors with a route for the cable for the Pro's adapter? No: get a quote.
- Will I screw down every base rather than rely on the tape? No: get a quote.
- Am I comfortable being my own support when a section stops responding? No: get a quote.
- All yes? Measure the eave, count the corners, and buy the kit that fits.
Installers are listed by state and city under permanent lighting, or search by ZIP below.
Compare a kit against a professional quote
Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers near you. Quotes are free, and a real number for your house settles the DIY-or-pro question quickly.
Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.
Related guides
Written by Matt Staton, founder of Strandr, the design software used by 1,700+ professional lighting contractors.
Every installer on Lights Local is reviewed before listing. More about how Lights Local works → · What installation costs → · Buyer's guides →