LIGHTSLOCAL

Permanent Lighting · Buyer's guide

Govee vs eufy permanent outdoor lights: which DIY kit, and when neither is the answer

Updated September 13, 2026

Govee and eufy sell the two most-compared DIY permanent outdoor lighting kits: strings of LED nodes you stick and screw along the eave, plug into an outlet near the start of the run, and control from a phone. On the manufacturers' own specifications, the honest summary is this. Govee's Pro kit is the only one of the three that can be cut to length, which matters on any roofline with more than a couple of corners. Eufy's E22 states the higher per-node brightness of the two kits that publish a figure (Govee's Pro page does not) and the widest colour-temperature range, and carries dedicated warm and cool white LEDs. Govee's cheaper Lights 2 kit sits between them on features and is the entry point. All three mount the same way, with adhesive tape and screws or clips, which is the part that decides how long any of them stays on the house. This guide sets the published specifications side by side, explains what each difference means on a real eave, and then covers the question neither brand's page asks: whether a DIY kit belongs on your roofline at all.

Not sure a kit is right for your house?

Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers who serve your area. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.

Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.

The three kits, side by side

Govee sells its permanent lights in several tiers; the two people compare against eufy are Permanent Outdoor Lights 2, the entry kit, and Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro. Eufy's current kit is the Permanent Outdoor Lights E22. Everything in the table is as stated on the manufacturers' product pages, checked in September 2026.

Govee Lights 2Govee Proeufy E22
Lengths sold50, 100, 150 ft100, 150, 200 ft50 ft (30 nodes), 100 ft (60 nodes), 150 ft
Can it be cut?NoYes, per the user manualNo
Maximum run150 ft; up to 9 light sections and 4 extension cables200 ft total after extensionsUp to 9 strings linked
White lightRGBWIC; manufacturer states 40 lm white per nodeRGBIC with enhanced warm and cool white; 2700K to 6500KTriple LED: RGB plus warm and cool white; up to 90 lm; 1500K to 9000K
WeatherproofingLights IP67; adapter and control box IP65Lights IP67; control box IP65; adapter for indoor use onlyLights IP65; adapter IP67
Operating temperature-4°F to 140°FNot stated on the page we checked-4°F to 140°F
Rated lifespanNot stated on the page we checkedNot stated on the page we checkedOver 55,000 hours
Scenes100 scene modes75 scene modesOver 80 preset themes
App and voiceGovee Home; Alexa, Google Assistant, MatterGovee Home; Alexa, Google Assistant, Mattereufy Life; Alexa, Google Assistant; syncs with eufy cameras
MountingVHB adhesive and clipsVHB adhesive and clipsAdhesive tape plus a screw hole in each base
Published warrantyNot stated on the page we checkedNot stated on the page we checkedNot stated on the page we checked

Two cautions about reading that table. The brightness figures come from different manufacturers' pages and there is no reason to assume they were measured the same way; treat 40 versus 90 as a signal that eufy claims a brighter white, not as a laboratory result. And the weatherproof ratings are split between light string and power parts on all three; Govee's Pro page says outright that its adapter is for indoor use, which means that adapter has to live inside, with the low-voltage cable routed out through the wall; a covered outdoor outlet is not enough for it. Read both lines before you decide where the run starts.

Cutting to length: the difference that shows on the house

A permanent kit is a fixed string of nodes at a fixed spacing. On a long straight eave that is fine; you buy the nearest length and hide the excess. On a roofline with gables, a porch at a different height, or a run that turns three corners, a string that cannot be cut has to either overshoot and be tucked away or fall short and leave a gap. Neither looks built-in, which is the whole point of a permanent product.

Govee's Pro is the only one of the three whose page says it can be cut and reconnected, with the total length after extensions capped at 200 feet. Govee's Lights 2 and eufy's E22 both extend by linking whole sections, which handles a longer run but not an awkward one. If your roofline is anything other than simple, this single row outweighs every other row in the table, and it is the reason the Govee guide treats the Pro line as the one to look at for complicated houses.

White light: what the specs mean at night

Most people who buy permanent lighting run it in plain white far more nights than in colour. How a kit makes white is therefore the specification to care about, and it is where the three differ most on paper.

  • Govee Lights 2 lists an RGBWIC system with a stated 40 lumens of white per node. The W means there is a white LED in the node rather than white mixed from red, green and blue.
  • Govee Pro describes enhanced warm and cool white with an adjustable range from 2700K, a warm incandescent tone, to 6500K, a cool daylight tone. That range covers what most homeowners want from everyday white.
  • eufy E22 describes a triple-LED node: RGB plus a dedicated warm white and a dedicated cool white, with up to 90 lumens and a stated range from 1500K, which is very warm, almost amber, to 9000K, a blue-white. That is the widest range of the three. On brightness, the only other published figure is Lights 2's 40 lumens, so E22's 90 is the higher of those two; Govee's Pro page does not state lumens, so no three-way ranking is possible from the pages.

Wider is not automatically better. A 1500K setting exists for a candlelight look and 9000K for a cold security-light look; the range you will actually use sits in the middle, which all three cover. Brightness matters more on a tall house or a wide eave where nodes are far from the eye. If you can, look at each kit lit on a real house at night before buying. Retail reviews with night photos are the next best thing.

Weatherproofing and where the power lives

All three kits rate the light string for outdoor life. The parts that differ are the adapter and control box, and those are the parts that fail first when they get wet.

  • Govee Lights 2: light string IP67, adapter and control box IP65. Both power parts are rated for rain but the lower rating means they should not sit where water pools.
  • Govee Pro: light string IP67, control box IP65, and the page states the adapter is for indoor use only. Plan for the adapter to live inside, in a garage or basement, with the cable routed out through the wall; a covered porch does not count as indoors.
  • eufy E22: light string IP65, adapter IP67. The reverse split: eufy rates the adapter higher than the string, at least on the page we checked.

In practice, Govee Lights 2 and eufy want a covered, GFCI-protected outdoor outlet near the start of the run with the control box out of direct weather, and Govee Pro wants an indoor outlet for its adapter with the cable routed outside. Where that outlet is on your house determines where the run can start, and if there is no outlet on the side you want lit, an electrician visit is part of the DIY cost that neither brand's page mentions.

Mounting: the thing that actually decides longevity

Every kit ships with adhesive on the bases and a way to screw them down. Govee describes VHB adhesive and clips; eufy describes adhesive tape plus a screw hole in each base. The pattern in owner reviews across DIY kits, described at length in the Govee guide, is that tape alone lets go after a season or two of sun and frost, and the owners happiest years later are the ones who screwed every base. Budget the time for that. On a single-storey home it is an afternoon. On a two-storey home it is the part that should make you pause, because going back up to fix a dropped section in January is worse than the original install.

Lights Local installers quote every major professional brand and do not sell either kit, so we have no reason to steer you toward Govee, eufy, or away from DIY. The comparison above is the manufacturers' own numbers; the decision below is about your house.

So which kit?

On the published specifications alone:

  • Simple roofline, budget first: Govee Lights 2. It is the entry kit, extends to 150 feet, and has the highest scene count if that matters to you.
  • Roofline with corners, gables or mixed heights: Govee Pro, because it is the one that can be cut to fit. Keep the adapter indoors.
  • Everyday white is the main use, and you want the highest published white figure and the most adjustable white on paper: eufy E22, which also links to eufy cameras if you already run them.
  • Any two-storey or steep roofline: none of them, until you have read the next section.

For a closer look at the two Govee tiers against each other, see Govee Pro vs Lights 2. For eufy in depth, see the eufy guide.

When neither kit is the answer

A DIY kit is a consumer product designed to be installed by the person who bought it. A professionally installed system is a different category: LEDs in a colour-matched aluminium track cut to your roofline, wired to a dedicated supply, fitted by a crew that has done a hundred eaves and will come back if a section fails. The brand comparison covers the professional systems. The kit-versus-pro decision comes down to four questions:

  1. Can you safely reach every foot of the roofline you want lit? Single storey, yes. Two storeys or a steep pitch, usually not, and that is the end of the DIY case for most people.
  2. Is the roofline simple enough for a fixed-spacing string? A long run with two corners, yes. Gables, dormers and a porch roof at a different height, no, even with the cuttable Pro.
  3. Do you want it to disappear by day? A row of clipped nodes on the fascia is visible; a colour-matched track is not. Only a professional install delivers the second look.
  4. Do you want someone to come to the house when it fails? A kit's warranty means a replacement in the post. A contractor who installed the system has a reason to return.

If you answered yes to the first two and do not much care about the last two, buy the kit that fits your roofline from the list above, screw every base, and enjoy it. If any answer was no, get a professional quote before you buy anything. Installers are listed by state and city under permanent lighting, and the difference in price between the two categories is explained without sales pressure in the cost guide.

Get a professional quote to compare against the kits

Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers near you. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.

Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.

Related guides

MS

Written by Matt Staton, founder of Strandr, the design software used by 1,700+ professional lighting contractors.

Every installer on Lights Local is reviewed before listing. More about how Lights Local works → · What installation costs → · Buyer's guides →

Frequently Asked Questions

Get a Free Quote