LIGHTSLOCAL

Permanent Lighting · Buyer's guide

Trimlight vs Gemstone Lights: what actually differs, and how to choose

Updated September 13, 2026

Trimlight and Gemstone Lights are both professionally installed permanent lighting systems: addressable LEDs in a track designed to blend into your roofline, controlled from an app, sold and fitted through local dealers. The hardware is more alike than different. The sharpest difference is in what each manufacturer is willing to put in writing. Trimlight publishes a lifetime product warranty on core components with a one-year labour minimum, an approximate price per foot in its own comparison post, three residential spacing options, and a plain statement that its product mixes white from red, green and blue with no dedicated white channel. Gemstone publishes none of those on the pages we checked: no pricing, and warranty terms that sit behind a registration page rather than on the product pages. What Gemstone does publish is a free AI preview that renders its lights on a photo of your house, a manufacturer-stated rating from a large review base, and the detail that its controller, the Hub, moved to a second generation, the Hub2, in 2024. Neither is better in the abstract. This page lays out what is known, what is not, and how to compare two quotes so the decision rests on your dealer and your house rather than on which brand's blog you read first.

Get a Trimlight quote and a Gemstone quote from one search

Enter your ZIP. Lights Local installers quote both brands, so you can compare rather than be steered.

Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.

Why the comparisons you find are not neutral

The pages that rank for this question are written by dealers. A Trimlight dealer will lead with the lifetime warranty. A Gemstone dealer will lead with the review count and the preview tool. Trimlight's own site carries a brand-comparison post. Each is usually accurate about its own facts and each arrives at the verdict its business needs. Reddit threads are more honest, since nobody there is selling, but each thread is one house and one dealer.

Lights Local is a directory. Installers listed here quote whichever brands they carry, often more than one, so this page has no reason to steer you. Read the dealer pages for their facts and this page for the shape of the decision.

What they share

  • Track designed to disappear. Trimlight describes a patented, colour-matched channel designed to disappear into the roofline with the wiring concealed inside it. Gemstone describes permanent track lighting designed to blend into the home. Both are aiming at the same daytime result: a line along the eave you do not notice.
  • Individually addressable LEDs. Each light can be its own colour on both systems, which is what holiday patterns, chases and accent zones depend on.
  • App control. Trimlight runs from the Trimlight Edge app, with Alexa and Google Home compatibility per the manufacturer. Gemstone runs from its Hub controller and app. On either brand, the app is the product you live with after install day; try both before you commit.
  • Dealer installation. Both are measured, cut, routed and wired to your house by a local dealer. That work is the biggest variable in how the finished system looks and lasts, and it is the same variable for both brands.
  • Year-round positioning. Both are sold for everyday architectural lighting as well as Christmas, New Year's and other holidays.

Our brand comparison puts every professional system in one table. This page narrows it to these two.

Where they genuinely differ

What is published, and what is not

This is the heart of the comparison. Trimlight's site is unusually specific: a warranty with defined parts, a published approximate price, a spacing menu, and a straight answer on white light. Gemstone's site, on the pages we checked, does not state pricing, does not state warranty terms on its product pages, does not spell out the power arrangement, does not say whether there is a dedicated warm-white channel, and does not detail the mounting hardware. None of that means Gemstone's product is worse. It means that with Trimlight you can check a dealer's claims against the manufacturer's own words, and with Gemstone you cannot, so every one of those facts has to come from the dealer, in writing.

Warranty

Trimlight publishes, as the manufacturer: a lifetime product warranty on core components, based on the manufacturer's estimated lifespan of those components, which it has described as covering LEDs, channel, wiring and controller; a minimum one-year labour warranty from the installing dealer; replacement parts free through local dealers, with labour fees possibly applying after the initial labour period; and no transfer when you sell the home. "Lifetime" is defined by the manufacturer's estimated component lifespan, which it bases on a rating of roughly 50,000 hours for its residential LEDs, so read the definition. Gemstone's site has a warranty registration page, which tells you a warranty exists, but the terms were not stated on the pages we checked. We will not guess at them. Ask the Gemstone dealer for the current manufacturer warranty in writing and, separately, what labour the dealer covers and for how long.

Pricing

Trimlight gives an approximate price per linear foot in its own comparison post and says full projects generally land in a range that runs to several thousand dollars or more depending on scope. That is a national manufacturer figure; your dealer sets the actual price. Gemstone publishes nothing on price, which is not unusual for a dealer-sold product but does mean you cannot sanity-check a Gemstone quote against a manufacturer number. You can check it against Trimlight's published range for the same house, and against the factors that move every permanent lighting quote: length of run, corners and peaks, height and access, and where the power comes from. Our cost guide walks through those with ranges.

Controller

Gemstone's controller has two generations: the Hub, sold from 2017, and the Hub2, introduced in 2024. If you are buying now you should be getting a Hub2, and it is worth asking the dealer to confirm that in the quote. If you are looking at a home with an older Gemstone install, ask which controller it has and whether it is still supported by the app. Trimlight's site presents the Trimlight Edge app as its control layer, with cloud access, schedules, timers and music sync, and does not describe controller generations on the pages we checked.

Spacing and white light

Trimlight offers 6-inch, 9-inch or 12-inch residential spacing: tighter reads as a continuous line and costs more per foot, wider reads as distinct points and costs less. Gemstone's pages we checked do not present spacing as a menu; ask the dealer what they install. On white light, Trimlight states that its residential product mixes white from red, green and blue with no dedicated white channel, which works but can read slightly differently from a dedicated warm-white LED. Gemstone's site does not say either way. If plain warm-white for everyday use is your main reason for buying, ask both dealers to show it to you after dark, and ask the Gemstone dealer directly about a dedicated white channel.

Preview tool and review base

Gemstone offers a free AI tool that renders its lights on a photo of your house. It is a sales tool, but a genuinely useful one for settling colour and spacing before anyone comes out, and it is worth doing even if you end up choosing Trimlight. Gemstone also states a 4.9 rating from more than 950 reviews on its site; that is a manufacturer-curated figure, and the reviews that matter are those of the specific dealer who would install yours. Trimlight's site does not offer a preview tool or a headline rating on the pages we checked.

DIY route

Trimlight is strictly dealer-only: no retail or DIY version, and no warranty coverage for self-installs. Gemstone's site includes a quick-start guide and app tutorials, which suggests a self-install path exists, but the product is positioned around dealer installation and the site does not spell out DIY availability or a DIY warranty. If self-installing matters to you, ask a Gemstone dealer directly, and know that brands such as Jellyfish and EverLights state a DIY route plainly, and Oelo publishes a separate DIY warranty tier.

Side by side

TrimlightGemstone Lights
MountingPatented colour-matched channel, wiring concealed insideTrack designed to blend into the home; hardware not detailed on site
Spacing options6-, 9- or 12-inch residential spacingNot presented as a menu on the pages we checked; ask
White lightRGB mixing, no dedicated white channel (manufacturer)Not stated on the pages we checked
ControllerTrimlight Edge app; Alexa and Google HomeHub (2017) / Hub2 (2024) and app
Preview toolNot stated on the pages we checkedFree AI preview on a photo of your house
How soldDealers only, 300+ per manufacturer; no DIYDealers; quick-start guides suggest a DIY path
Published warrantyLifetime on core components; one-year labour minimum; does not transferRegistration page; terms not on the pages we checked
Published pricingApproximate per-foot range in its own comparison postNot published
Published reviewsNot stated on the pages we checked4.9 from 950+ reviews, manufacturer-stated

A row that reads "not stated" is not a mark against the product. It is a question you now know to ask, and the answer belongs in the quote.

How to compare a Trimlight quote against a Gemstone quote

Two permanent lighting quotes usually differ because they describe different jobs, not because the hardware differs. Before you compare a single number, confirm both quotes cover the same:

  1. The run. Total linear feet and which elevations. Ask each dealer to mark it on a photo, or use Gemstone's preview as the shared picture and have the Trimlight dealer quote the same lines.
  2. Corners, peaks and transitions. How many, and whether each is priced in or extra. This is where the labour lives.
  3. Spacing. Which of Trimlight's three spacings is quoted, and what spacing the Gemstone dealer installs. Two quotes at different spacings are not comparable.
  4. Controller and power. For Gemstone, that it is a Hub2 and where it lives. For Trimlight, where the power supply and controller go and how the cable gets there. Neither site details the power arrangement on the pages we checked, so this is a dealer question for both.
  5. Warranty, in writing. Trimlight's published terms plus whatever labour coverage the dealer adds. Gemstone's manufacturer terms, which you will only see when the dealer hands them over, plus the dealer's labour coverage. Then ask both what a service call costs in year three.
  6. What is extra. Second-story work, difficult access, and a long run to the power source are the usual add-ons.

Once the two quotes describe the same job, what is left is the price and the dealer. Weight the dealer heavily. A well-fitted Gemstone will outlast a badly fitted Trimlight, and the reverse is equally true.

Lights Local installers quote both brands, so we have no reason to steer you toward Trimlight or Gemstone. The dealer's skill at corners and peaks, where the controller lives, and whether they come back are what decide the result, whichever name is on the track.

Questions to ask each dealer

  1. Have you installed on a house like mine? Ask to see it, at night if possible.
  2. Which track colour, and can I see a physical sample against my trim? Gemstone's preview helps, but a sample in daylight is better.
  3. Which spacing? For Trimlight, 6, 9 or 12 inches, and can I see each. For Gemstone, what do you install and is there a choice.
  4. Which controller, and where does it go? For Gemstone, confirm Hub2. For both, ask how it is powered and how the cable is routed.
  5. Is there a dedicated white channel, and can you show me plain white after dark? Trimlight has answered this on its site; Gemstone has not.
  6. What is the manufacturer warranty, what labour do you cover, and for how long? In writing, and especially for Gemstone, where the manufacturer does not publish it. Then: what does a service call cost after the labour period?
  7. What is in the quote and what is extra?
  8. When can you do it?

A dealer of either brand who answers all eight without hesitation is the one to hire. Installers are listed by state and city under permanent lighting, and the individual guides go deeper on Trimlight and Gemstone Lights.

When neither is the right answer

Both are professionally installed systems priced for that. For a single-story home with a straight roofline, an outlet within reach and a free weekend, a retail kit may be the better value, accepting clip mounting instead of a fitted track and a plug-in adapter instead of a dedicated supply. The Govee guide explains when a kit is the right call and when the roofline defeats it. And if you want a professional-grade system with a clearly stated DIY route, neither of these two is the obvious pick: Jellyfish and EverLights state one plainly, and Oelo publishes a separate DIY warranty.

Compare Trimlight and Gemstone installers near you

Enter your ZIP to see permanent lighting installers who quote both brands. Quotes are free and there is no obligation.

Free, no obligation. A local pro will reach out directly.

Related guides

MS

Written by Matt Staton, founder of Strandr, the design software used by 1,700+ professional lighting contractors.

Every installer on Lights Local is reviewed before listing. More about how Lights Local works → · What installation costs → · Buyer's guides →

Frequently Asked Questions

Get a Free Quote